All Collections
Talent Management
Team Insights
15 Bryq Types vs 8 Team Archetypes
15 Bryq Types vs 8 Team Archetypes

This article describes the differences between the 15 Bryq Types and the 8 Team Archetypes.

Manto Papagianni avatar
Written by Manto Papagianni
Updated over a week ago

The 15 Bryq Types- based on Holland Code Theory

The 15 Bryq Types which are currently presented to the candidates and employees results aim to provide information on the roles in which they may flourish based on their unique personality and cognitive results. Based on the Holland code theory individuals can be classified into six codes based on their interests namely Realistic (R), Investigative (I), Artistic (A), Social (S), Enterprising (E), and Conventional (C) type. Given that each individual may have an interest in several codes, a specific profile emerges when these interests are combined.

To simplify and make this information more accessible to all, the Bryq team has created 15 Bryq types. Each type combines 2 Holland codes which are selected based on the optimal weighting schema for the role of interest. For example, an individual who is classified as a “Maven” reveals the highest scores in the Realistic and Investigative Holland codes. This means that they are interested in data, science, and research and they prefer working with their hands and/or objects in their day-to-day role. They enjoy challenging tasks that require motor coordination, solving problems, and investigation so they would thrive in roles such as a machinist, a robotics engineer, a chemist, a veterinarian, a surgeon, and an electrician. It is important to note that these suggestions are indicative. They are based on the skills the individual shows a preference for, but they do not imply that these are the only roles that the individual is suitable for.

This consolidated version of the 15 Bryq types offers a more concise and clear categorization scheme. It helps individuals uncover information about their interests and personality, and how these align with specific job roles where they can develop, flourish, and succeed.

The 8 Team Archetypes- based on Belbin’s Team Role Model

The 8 Team Archetypes are introduced as part of the Team Insights feature which is currently offered as an offline report by Bryq to its customers. The report provides insights into the teams’ anatomy, unraveling information on the members’ way of acting, how they relate to each other, and how they support the overall advancement of the team.

While many factors influence a team’s performance, considerable attention has been given to the influence of team member diversity in terms of roles played in a team. A team role is a pattern of behavior characteristic of how one team member interacts with another, to facilitate the progress of the team as a whole. According to Belbin’s Team Role model as well as follow-up research on the construct, teams that include a balanced representation of different roles are more consistently successful than teams in which this balance is absent.

Based on the above, Bryq created the 8 Team Archetypes which reflect the different roles one might have in a team setting. The Team Insights report provides a detailed view of the 8 Team Archetypes found in a specific team, along with their strengths and potential weaknesses, helping customers better understand how team members are likely to behave, contribute and interrelate with other team members.

Did this answer your question?